The History of Paunat – Dordogne.
Not much has really changed to this very small hamlet built around the recently renovated Abbey of Paunat. Today Paunat commune houses just 323 people. A 1000 years ago it was a bustling hub of monks, pilgrims, and tradesmen.
Legend has it that a lone monk on a pilgrimage, setup camp for the night alongside a clear spring stream. He stuck his Pilgrims staff into the soft grassy ground before falling asleep. In the morning the monk woke up to find his Pilgrims Staff had rooted itself, and was impossible to remove. This was a “sign” and hence PALNATUM which became over centuries, Poanat, Paunac and, finally, PAUNAT was born.
- 991 : Consecration of the church by Bishop FROTAIRE of Périgueux.
- 1113 : The monks of Paunat built St. Martin and what is now B&B Ferme de Tayac
- 1304 : Visit of Bertrand de Got, Archbishop of Bordeaux and future Pope Clement V.
- 1986 : Inauguration of the new bells.
- 1956 : Accorded listed building status.
- 1991 : Millennium anniversary of the 12th century abbey church
The village of Paunat, nestled in the hollow of a valley, has – apart from the abbey church – old houses, a presbytery, wash-house, spring and a stream which runs under the town hall. Paunat is situated in the canton of Sainte Alvère and can be reached by the D703 and C3 roads. Paunat boasts a second site of particular interest in the SORS cliffs carved out of rock by the confluence of the Pradelue and Dordogne rivers.
- Village fête on August 15th with antique’s fair, fireworks, dance, ‘Paunatoise’ climbing and ‘boules’ competition.
- Evening markets on July and August
- Truffle Day : the last Sunday before Christmas
Paunat is just a scenic 15 min. drive from Ferme de Tayac, and can be visited together with Le Bugue, Limeuil and St. Alvere.